Rising majestically from its steep hill, Le Temple, Château-d’Oex’s historic church, stands as a defining symbol of the Pays-d’Enhaut. The terrace affords magnificent views over the village and surrounding landscape, while the interior is illuminated by lovely stained-glass windows.
To visit Château-d’Oex without taking a look at its church would be almost unthinkable. Dating from the fifteenth century, Le Temple rises in splendour from a hill at the edge of the village. On the same butte, the mediaeval Counts of Gruyère erected a guard tower. The gothic church that replaced it dates from the 1450’s. Partially destroyed by a fire that ravaged the village in 1800, the wooden superstructure and interior balconies had to be entirely rebuilt. Later, the spire over the bell tower was replaced with a roof in the so-called “imperial” style to reduce expenses. The magnificent stained-glass windows were added in the mid-twentieth century. And the concert organ was installed in 2006, allowing the hosting of a number of concerts every year.